Watermelon Salad with Feta and Balsamic Vinegar

Watermelons. Everywhere!

I recently returned from a month in Shanghai, and 8 days in Bulgaria, where I consumed unbelievable amounts of watermelon. Now at home in London, they are still everywhere! And since they are only £2.50 at Booker, my mum is hoarding them like a squirrel!

So what do I do with this abundance of food? Try something different! (Otherwise it gets boring, no?)

Pinterest (my go-to website for food inspiration) gave me a wealth of ideas, but the balsamic, feta watermelon salad seemed popular. Although I’ve tried fruit with cheese, I had never even heard of this combination. The slight saltiness of the feta pairs well with the juicy, sweet watermelon, and the sweet and sour flavour from the balsamic vinegar ties the two together and gives the salad a unique twist. With all the liquid from the watermelons, this salad is surprisingly filling! The list of ingredients are below, but adjust quantities to taste. I would advise including enough cheese for each bite of watermelon.

2014-07-20 14.38.42

Watermelon salad with feta and balsamic vinegar

  • Watermelon flesh, small cubes
  • Feta cheese, small cubes
  • Mixed salad leaves
  • 3/4 tbsp of balsamic vinegar for each portion

 

Let's talk!

